Deadline Day: who’s running in the municipal election – The London Free Press

A stream of last-minute political hopefuls showed up at city hall on Friday to officially enter the civic race, many with just minutes to spare before the nomination period closed at 2 p.m.

In a move that was long expected, former city councillor Stephen Orser pulled out of the mayoral race to launch a run in his old stomping grounds, Ward 4.

Paul Van Meerbergen, a three-term city councillor who was ousted in the 2014 election by rookie Virginia Ridley, also filed his paperwork to run again in Ward 10.

Two Ward 3 candidates withdrew this week, and incumbent Mo Salih now faces just one challenger, Harry Prince (whose name will appear on the ballot as Prince, Harry).

Getting close…corporate security and city clerk Cathy Saunders getting ready to set up the “gate” here at city hall. 2 minutes to go until the deadline. #LdnOnt

— Megan Stacey (@MeganatLFPress) July 27, 2018

Three failed provincial election candidates came back for a second election, including former London-Fanshawe Progressive Conservative candidate Eric Weniger in Ward 12, Ward 13 challenger Jonathan Hughes, who ran provincially for the Liberals in London West, and school board trustee candidate Amanda Stratton, a former NDP candidate in Elgin-Middlesex-London.

A number of political rookies also joined the civic race.

Photographer Eric Deleeuw is running in Ward 11, currently represented by Stephen Turner.

Twenty-five-year-old Ben Charlebois was the very last person to file paperwork on Friday afternoon. He’ll challenge Anna Hopkins in Ward 9.

Deadline day in London wasn’t as dramatic as the chaos in Toronto after Premier Doug Ford announced a plan redraw ward boundaries and slash the number of Toronto city councillors from 47 to 25 to align with provincial ridings.

In London, voters elect 14 ward councillors and a mayor. Election day is Oct. 22, and London will be the only Canadian city to use a ranked ballot system.


(Incumbent in bold)

Mayor: Vahide Bahramporian, Paul Cheng, Ali Hamadi, Ed Holder, Dan Lenart, Nina McCutcheon, David Millie, Jordan Minter, Mohamed Moussa, Carlos Murray, Sean O’Connell, Paul Paolatto, Tanya Park, Jonas White

Ward 1: Melanie O’Brien, Bud Polhill, Michael van Holst

Ward 2: Bill Armstrong, Alan Jackson, Shawn Lewis

Ward 3: Harry Prince, Mo Salih

Ward 4: Connor Garrett, Jesse Helmer, Xuemei Jiang, Tricia Lystar, Stephen Orser

Ward 5: Maureen Cassidy, Shiv Chokhani, Shane Clarke, Charles Knott, Stephanie Marentette Di Battista, Randy Warden

Ward 6: Mike Bloxam, Phil Squire

Ward 7: Joe Kolenko, Josh Morgan

Ward 8: Osam Ali, Bill Downie, Matthew Greer, Nour Hamid, Morena Hernandez, Moon Inthavong, Tariq Khan, Steve Lehman, Matt Reid

Ward 9: Ben Charlebois, Anna Hopkins, Matt Millar, Kyle Thompson, Veronica Marie Warner

Ward 10: Gary Manley, Kevin May, Virginia Ridley, Thomas Risley, Paul Van Meerbergen

Ward 11: Paul-Michael Anderson, Eric Deleeuw, Menno Meijer, Rachel Powell, Stephen Turner, Vicki Van Linden

Ward 12: Gordon Evans, Jesse Haidar, Faisal Mahmood, Rowa Mohamed, Elizabeth Peloza, Eric Weniger

Ward 13: Ben Benedict, John Fyfe-Millar, Jonathan Hughes, Arielle Kayabaga, David Lundquist, Rod Morley, Gil Warren, Kevin Wilbee

Ward 14: Steven Hillier, Annette Swalwell, Allan Tipping, Jared Zaifman